The next municipal election to elect a mayor, ward councillors, and school board trustees will be held on Monday, October 22, 2018.

The Municipalities of Dysart et al, and Highlands East and the Township’s of Algonquin Highlands and Minden Hills will be hosting a joint information session for citizens interested in running as a candidate for municipal office. The Candidate Information Session will take place on Thursday, April 26, 2018 from 6:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m. at the Haliburton Royal Canadian Legion Branch 129 located at 719 Mountain Street, Haliburton ON. Representatives from the Ministry of Municipal Affairs will be facilitating the session and will cover a range of topics including nomination process, election process, what to expect if elected, and roles and responsibilities. Nominations to run for Council commences on May 1, 2018, with Nomination Day on July 27, 2018. The Municipal Election will be held on October 22, 2018. Advance registration for the session is encouraged by emailing Deanna Smith at or calling 705-286-1260 ext. 212 by April 16, 2018.

Please be advised that the Nomination Period for municipal electons has changed to May 1, 2018 to July 27, 2018. Nomination papers will be available on the Township’s website and at the Municipal Office (1123 North Shore Road) during regular operating hours starting on May 1, 2018. The deadline for candidates to submit their Nomination Papers is Friday, July 27, 2018 between 9:00 a.m. and 2:00 p.m.

A new requirement under the Municipal Elections Act (MEA) requires anyone wishing to run for office as a member of Council (excluding school board trustees) must submit signatures of 25 eligible voters in Algonquin Highlands supporting their nomination to run for office. The 25 signatures must be on the prescribed form.

NOTICE is hereby given to the Municipal Electors of the TOWNSHIP OF ALGONQUIN HIGHLANDS that NOMINATIONS in the Township of Algonquin Highlands may be filed for the offices of:

Mayor - One (1) to be elected at large by all voters in the municipality.
Councillor - (Ward 1) One (1) to be elected by all voters in Ward 1 Representing the Geographic Township of Sherborne.
Councillor - (Ward 2) Two (2) to be elected by all voters in Ward 2 Representing the Geographic Township of Stanhope.
Councillor - (Ward 3) One (1) to be elected by all voters in Ward 3 Representing the Geographic Townships of McClintock, Livingstone, Lawrence and Nightingale.

School Board Trustees:
Offices to be Elected:

  • English Public (EP) - Trillium Lakelands District School Board:

One (1) to be elected to represent the County of Haliburton: Township of Algonquin Highlands, Municipality of Dysart et al, Township of Minden Hills, and Municipality of Highlands East. 

Nominations are to be filed with the Clerk, Township of Minden Hills.

  • French Public (FP) - Nominations for Counseiller(ère), Le Conseil scolaire Viamonde:

One (1) trustee to be elected to represent: County of Haliburton, Northumberland, Peterborough, Kawartha Lakes, and Durham.

Nominations are to be filed with the Clerk, City of Oshawa.

A person is qualified to be elected or hold office, who, as of the day he or she files his or her nomination is:

  • Entitled to be an elector under MEA, s.17 Is a Canadian citizen;
  • Is at least 18 years of age;
  • Resides in the local municipality, or is the owner or tenant of land in the local municipality, or the spouse of such a person; and Is not prohibited from voting as noted or otherwise, by law.
  • Not disqualified for violation of financial requirements or violations of requirements for filing financial information.
  • ​​​​​​​Not disqualified by any Act from holding such office. Not disqualified under the provisions as outlined in MEA s.90(2) and 91(1).

The following persons are disqualified:

  • Except in accordance with MEA, s.30 (Leave of Absence), an employee of the municipality or a person who is not an employed of the municipality, but who is the Clerk, Treasurer, Integrity Commissioner, Auditor General, Ombudsman or registrar referred to in s.223.11 of the Municipal Act or an investigator referred to in s.239.2(1) of the municipality or a person who is not an employee of the municipality, but who holds any administrative position of the municipality.
  • ​​​​​​​A judge of any court.
  • ​​​​​​​A Senator, a Member of Parliament, a Member of Provincial Parliament.
  • ​​​​​​​A person who is serving a sentence of imprisonment in a penal or correctional institution, including a sentence being served in the evening or on weekends (this does not include a person serving a sentence at home).
  • A corporation.
  • A person acting as executor or trustee or in any other representative capacity.
  • A person who was convicted of the corrupt practices described in MEA, s.90(3) if Voting Day in the current election is less than 5 years after Voting Day in the election in respect of which he or she was convicted.
  • ​​​​​​​A person disqualified for violations of financial requirements or violations of requirements for filing financial information.

Nominations may be made by completing and filing in the office of the Clerk nominations on the prescribed form and accompanied by acceptable identification, with the declaration by at least 25 persons (on the prescribed form) and the prescribed nomination filing fee of $200 for the Head of Council and $100 for all other offices. The declaration for 25 persons is not applicable to school board candidates.

The filing fee is payable by cash, debit, certified cheque, bank draft or money order. A nomination must be signed by the candidate and may be filed in person or by an agent BY APPOINTMENT ONLY during regular business hours (8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. weekends and Statutory Holidays excluded) beginning on Tuesday May 1, 2018 through to July 26, 2018 and between 9:00 a.m. and 2:00 p.m. on Friday July 27, 2018 (Nomination Day).

Please contact the Clerk to confirm acceptable identification. Identification must be valid and contain the candidate’s name, qualifying address and signature. NOTE: Identification that requires the person to “write in” an address is not acceptable identification (e.g. Canadian Passport).

If a candidate wishes to withdraw completely, the candidate must file a written withdrawal of their candidacy, by no later than 2:00 p.m. on July 27, 2018 (Nomination Day) in the Clerk's Office. Any withdrawals sent by mail, email or fax are not permitted, as it must be filed in the Clerk's Office.